Inter-University Doctoral Consortium

GSAS doctoral students have the opportunity to take graduate courses in New York area schools participating in the Inter-University Doctoral Consortium (IUDC).  The IUDC offers students an enormous array of courses and opportunities for contact with faculty and students in their fields.

Requirements to take IUDC graduate courses:

  • To be a doctoral student (terminal masters students and non-Arts and Sciences students are not eligible).
  • To have completed at least one year of full time study toward the Ph.D.

Inter-University Doctoral Consortium members:

Participating schools are: Columbia University, GSAS
Princeton University - The Graduate School
CUNY Graduate Center
Rutgers University, New Brunswick
Fordham University, GSAS
Stony Brook University
Graduate Faculty, New School University
Teachers College, Columbia University
New York University, GSAS, Steinhardt

To take consortium courses you need the approval of your Department/Program Chair and to complete the Inter-University Doctoral Consortium Registration Form available by clicking:

For more information please visit the IUDC website:

Graduate Spring 2013 Courses