Joe A. Callaway Prize

The Award

Sponsored by the Department of English, the Joe A. Callaway prize is awarded every other year for the best book on drama or theatre published during the previous two years. The award honors the namesake, Joe A. Callaway, who dedicated more than 50 years to the theatre as an actor, director, lecturer, and critic. A panel of judges comprised of three professors in the fields of drama and theatre choose the winning book and grant the author a $9000 prize.

To nominate a book for the 2018 Prize, please send three (3) copies of the book, no later than January 31, 2018, to:

Professor Una Chaudhuri
The Joe A. Callaway Prize
Department of English, NYU
244 Greene Street, New York, NY 10003 

Eligibility for 2018 Prize

Books nominated should be monographs (not anthologies) published in 2016 or 2017, and should treat subjects in drama and theatre, including biography, criticism, history, and theory. 

Previous Recipients

Charlotte Canning, On the Performance Front: US Theatre and Internationalism
Palgrave Macmillan, 2014

Edward Ziter, Political Performance in Syria: From the Six-Day War to the Syrian Uprising
Palgrave Macmillan, 2014


Martin Puchner, The Drama of Ideas: Platonic Provocations in Theater and Philosophy
Oxford University Press, 2010


David Savran, Highbrow/Lowdown: Theatre, Jazz and the Making of the New Middle Class
University of Michigan Press, 2009


Kim Marra, Strange Duets: Impresarios and Actresses in American Theatre, 1865-1914
University of Iowa Press, 2006


Aparna Dharwadker, Theatres of Independence: Drama, Theory and Urban Performance in India since 1947
University of Iowa Press, 2005


Katrin Sieg, Ethnic Drag: Performing Race, Nation, Sexuality in West Germany
University of Michigan Press, 2002


Marvin Carlson, The Haunted Stage: The Theatre as Memory Machine
University of Michigan Press, 2001