Prizes and Awards

The Friedrich Ulfers Prize 


The Friedrich Ulfers Prize was established in 2013 and is awarded annually at the opening ceremony of Festival Neue Literatur by Deutsches Haus at New York University to a leading publisher, writer, critic, translator, or scholar who has championed the advancement of German-language literature in the United States. The prize is endowed with a $5000 grant, and gives testimony to the rising importance of German-language literature in America today.


2017:    Barbara Epler

2016:    Burton Pike

2015:    Robert Weil

2014:    Sara Bershtel

2013:    Carol Brown Janeway

About Friedrich Ulfers

Friedrich Ulfers is Associate Professor of German at New York University. In the past he also served as Assistant Dean of the College of Arts and Science, the German Department’s Director of Undergraduate Studies, Director of the NYU in Berlin Summer Program and Director of Deutsches Haus at NYU. The recipient of NYU's Distinguished Teaching Medal and Great Teacher Award, and two-time winner of the College of Arts and Science's Golden Dozen Award for Excellence in Teaching, Ulfers has taught not only in the German Department but also in NYU's interdisciplinary programs, offering courses that engage a range of interests, including literary theory, continental philosophy, and the relationships between science, literature, and philosophy. Friedrich Ulfers is also affiliated with the European Graduate School in Saas-Fee, Switzerland. He served there as professor of Philosophy, teaching an intensive Summer Seminar on Nietzsche and 20th/21st Century Thought and giving a variety of lectures. From 2006-2009 he was Dean of the Media and Communications Division of the School, and in 2009 he was appointed Professor Emeritus.

Volkmar and Margret Sander Award

The Volkmar and Margret Sander Award was established by Professor Margret Sander in memory of her late husband, Professor Volkmar Sander, former head of the German Department of NYU and founder and first director of Deutsches Haus at NYU. The prestigious annual prize, which was awarded for the first time in 2013 is endowed with a $5000 grant, kindly donated by Margret Sander, and honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the cultural, political, and academic relationship between the German-speaking world and the United States.


2016: Prof. Claus Leggewie, Director of the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities Essen

2015: Lya Friedrich Pfeiffer, President of the Max Kade Foundation, Inc.

2014: Dr. Gary Smith, Director of American Academy in Berlin

2013: Prof. Fritz Stern, University Professor emeritus and former Provost of Columbia University